top of page

The Shadow Rises (Witch-Hunter, #1) by K.S. Marsden-Review

Firstly, a massive thank you to the wonderful K.S.Marsden who introduced me to this trilogy, wrote it and supplied me with free eBook review copies of this book in exchange of an honest review!!

Characters: 5/5

Plot: 5/5

Writing: 5/5

Originality: 5/5

I read James: witch-hunter (the prequel) before this book and fell in love with this trilogy straight away.

In contrast to the prequel, this story is from Hunter’s perspective. Hunter Astley is a 7th generation witch-hunter who works, with other witch-hunters at the Malleus Maleficarum Council.

Hunter is quite experienced but then the unexpected happens. People talk about a Shadow Witch and many assume its false or superstition. However, attacks soon take place and it is clear that this is a dark and evil force. Hunter and the other witch-hunters must be prepared.

I really enjoyed the plot twists as they were original and unique. The typical and overused plot line didn’t take place and this caused me to enjoy the book a lot. I also found the plot to seem realistic even though witches are far from the normal idea of realism. To be honest, I wouldn’t be surprised if this story was happening right now as we speak!

In the prequel, I wasn’t the biggest fan of Hunter and I am so glad this novel was from his point-of-view as I re-evaluated my perspective him and I really like him now.

“Finally she spoke with a forced scepticism, “So… if those girls are witches, and I was the sacrifice - what does that make you?”

“A witch-hunter.”

She raised a brow, “A witch-hunter named ‘Hunter’? How very original.”

Hunter sighed, “You’re a very pleasant, friendly character, aren’t you?”

I loved how relatable the characters were and how well-developed they were! I love K.S. Marsden’s characters because they seem real and I can imagine seeing them in the real world, or what we see as the real world.

The writing style was perfect and I couldn’t stop reading it. Everything is so well described and I loved being able to learn so much about the witches!

This book was adventurous, action-packed, incredible and full of twists. I loved every bit, every word of this book and it is one of my favourite series I have ever read!

I would highly recommend this book to everyone and I hope everyone gives it a chance. It is spectacular and I’m waiting for more from this author as she is truly incredible!

bottom of page